First there was Hollywood… then Bollywood… and now… Halalwood, Morocco's first and foremost digitalizer's debut album for Crammed, a tour-de-force which puts gnawa music, dub, sinuous classic Arabic, electronic beats, MCs, big drums and crunchy rock guitars into a giant blender to produce something fresh and original.

U-Cef has all the legitimacy and inspiration needed to navigate between cultures without any prejudice, disrespect or fear. Born and raised in Rabat, he absorbed much of his native Morocco's multiple traditions before moving first to New York and then to London, immersing himself along the way in the Western world's electronic & rock scenes. His first CD ‘Halalium’ (2001) was a milestone in Moroccan urban dance music, and has inspired a whole generation of rappers, b-boys and pro-tools adventurers, from Tangiers to Taroudant and Melilla to Marrakech. This time he collaborates with guests like Damon Albarn, Natacha Atlas, Rachid Taha & the Moroccan rap duo Dar Gnawa.

Halal tracks on this CD:
  1. Hilal (feat. Mirror System)
  2. Boolandrix (feat. Bizmatik & Said Damir)
  3. Ouddamak (feat. Natacha Atlas)
  4. Stick (feat. Damon Albarn)
  5. Hamdou'llah (feat. UK Apache)
  6. MarhaBahia (Said Damir & Pastel)
  7. Rachid Taha's Ya Rayah (feat. Rachid Taha)
  8. Mo' Rock'n'Roll (feat. Mbarka & Justin Adams)
  9. Idman (feat. Dar Gnawa, Sweetman & Staiffy)
  10. Kalzoom (Inta Omri) [feat. Amina Annabi]

Release date: 10 Nov 2008
Label: Crammed